Pumpkin Bread

Ok, so I know that I made all this fuss about how awesome pumpkins are, only to forget about ’em. Well, pumpkins are still awesome and I don’t care if they’re “outta season.” [Oh, right, that’s why I froze them.] In an effort to make up for the lack of food posts and neglect of pumpkin, I’mma post about them until…well, I have no idea. I won’t ever get sick of them. So maybe until I run out of frozen pumpkin.

Annnyway, I made pumpkin bread yesterday. I think I’ve eaten about half a loaf all by myself already. It’s a family recipe, so I essentially left it alone and just cut the sugar from 3 cups to 2, using brown sugar instead of the regular white stuff. Not a dangerous switch, especially because the molasses-y flavor from the brown sugar pairs well with punkin stuff. The recipe says nuts are optional, and the 9-year-old in me still scrunches up her nose and mumbles “yuck” to bread with nuts in it, so I ruthlessly banned them from the recipe like the cool kids exclude the geeks at school.

Ze recipe, pour vous [with my teensy adjustments]:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups brown sugar (packed)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon each: cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, & ginger
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups frozen pumpkin puree [canned is fine, too, if you don’t have as much time on your hands as I do]
Mix dry and wet ingredients separately.

Combine.

Pour into 2 greased and floured loaf pans.

Bake 1 hour at 350*F. Let cool on wire rack. Devour. Potentially with ice cream.

Isn't it cool how the edges kinda folded up?

Verdict: Tri-yum-ph. [I make no excuses for my awful puns and love them anyway]

One thought on “Pumpkin Bread

  1. Dear Katweena,
    I LOVE PUMPKIN BREAD!!!!
    thank you!!! i am going to attempt to make it…only i don’t quiet know the conversion from F to C but i will figure it out 🙂 Your a LEGEND i have been craving this for YEARS and never found the receipe!!
    xxx much love!

Leave a Reply

