This ain’t your momma’s recipe…

…it’s my momma’s. Fall and winter are indubitably soup season, sooo, soup’s on! For my first ever post about cooking, I decided to stick with a recipe that’s basically perfect. Sure, this goes against my tendency to ignore directions, but my family’s chicken corn soup is so freaking tasty. Experiments will come in later posts. So will better adjectives for how food tastes. And a cooler banner.

Chicken Corn Soup

  • 6 c. chicken broth
  • 2 c. noodles (uncooked)
  • 1 1/2 c. cooked, diced chicken
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 1/2 – 2 c. corn
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon parsely
Cook noodles in chicken broth 10-12 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and cook in crock pot on low for 5-6 hrs or on high for 2-3 hrs and then low for 1-2 hrs. Serves 6-8.
Some amendments here:
  • This is totally stovetop cook-able, and that’s what I did. Because really, who prepares for a meal 6 hours in advance? Not a 22 year old who procrastinates, that’s who. I cooked the noodles, then added everything and let simmer over medium-low heat for about half an hour.
  • I used egg noodles because that’s what we had, but in the past my favorite have been angel hair pasta broken into smallish pieces.
  • You can let everything cook together and leave the noodles til last if you’re worried about ending up with soggy noodles (band name, anyone?).
  • A combo of creamed corn and frozen kernel corn is nice, my favorite is all kernel because of the crunchiness. This time I used fresh corn that we froze earlier in the summer, hence the really teeny pieces floating around in the picture.
  • Again, with crunch in mind, I use a lot of celery.
  • Be careful with the salt: I only used a half teaspoon because I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and olive oil before baking it (about 3 large chicken breasts cut in half, baked at 375 F for 30-40 minutes. Shred before adding to soup). I’m glad I didn’t add all the salt the recipe calls for.
  • Totally adaptable for vegetarians. (Veggie broth + more veggies (potatoes would work well) to replace chicken stuff).
  • Dairy-free! Use rice noodles and it’s gluten-free!
The product? Healthy, hearty soup that is totally slurp-able. Especially wonderful after a Bon Iver kind of afternoon.
Verdict: Triumph.
One thought on “This ain’t your momma’s recipe…

Leave a Reply

